1000 Querce B&B

by Clarissa

On December 24th, the 1000 Querce Bed & Breakfast officially opened. On that day, our first guests I & I arrived from Italy. They stayed with us for about 10 days and left on Jan 2nd.

Lots of work was done in the days and weekends prior to their arrival, because our mansion was still in an advanced state of entropic chaos (particularly my craft room where entropy is still not under control yet); however, Doc and I have been able to fix the mansion and make it reasonably acceptable. The only flaw: the lack of the bed in the guest bedroom; therefore, I & I had to sleep on the couch in the wide but bare living room.

I & I are a lovely young couple. I have been knowing Mr I since he was born, but at times life has other plans, and I lost him when he was about 15 years old to find him a few years ago thanks to Facebook (actually, he found me) older and married with Mrs I. Mr I is a musician, plays the guitar, and composes music for singers and jingle for advertisements; Mrs I is works in IT and obviosly Doc became instantly his admired not only  because Doc has an insane passion for women who understand and can operate computers, but also because Mrs I has seredipitously found a wire that Doc looked for around the mansion without success. When Mrs I timidly suggested “Look in that cabinet,”   Doc was about to laugh out loud but because he is a gentleman and will never do that in front of a woman, he skeptically opened that cabinet and to his amazement found the wire; hence, his devoted admiration for Mrs I grew esponentially.

Our guests loved our mansion still smelling new, and even more the peace of 1000 Querce and the Conejo Valley that Doc would happily trade for 10% of the action he saw in Dubai last December… Yes, Doc has still not adapted to life in the suburbs…

Anyway… in those 10 days with our guests, we celebrated Xmas and the New Year, laughed out loud, spoke an impossible and improbable Italian language, watched low-budget (and questionable) soap operas on YouTube, ate in fancy restaurants, enjoyed the warm weather of Southern California, drove up and down the canyons, visited Los Angeles, Malibu, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Santa Barbara, and even made a 3-day trip to San Francisco. Basically, we had 10 days of pure fun.

For Mr I and Mrs I, this was their first trip to the US, and to quote them “almost unforgettable.” Thanks Mr I and Mrs I to have visited us and spent with Doc and I our first Californian Xmas and New Year . We loved having your around; we miss you, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. However, next time, please leave the flu virus in Italy, otherwise Doc will keep you in quarantine before letting you in the mansion.

I wish you a safe journey back home, and I hope you’ll be greeted as in this lovely video (which I love and still laugh and cry EVERY SINGLE  time I watch it…)

PS: A big THANK YOU to Alison Manning from New England Stamper who granted me permission to use the picture of her beautiful daisy wreath I posted at the beginning of this story. Her web site is full of lovely ideas and cards… check it out!

