OOPS!

by Clarissa


Alright, I have to admit it that maybe, perhaps, probably I am wrong… It is possible and very much likely that the  topic that worries Doc, that afflicts his neurons and forces them to work all the time, that torments his sleep, that tortures his thinking, that interferes with his innate peace is not THE TRASH as I previously stated, but THE SECURITY of his mansion.

Even though 1000 Querce is one of the safest towns in the whole US with a population between 100.000 and 499.999 habitants according to Wikipedia, Doc doesn’t feel safe living in a mansion that is open on three sides and most importantly doesn’t lower his awareness level for safety.

Doc is used to reading horrific stories of burglars and criminals entering villas and mansions in Italy and robbing, kidnapping, and doing all sort of criminal activities, he does not understand how something similar doesn’t occur in 1000 Querce where the areas with gangs are not that far away from this quiet town in the Rabbit Valley

“I am shocked that criminals don’t travel in richer areas to trespass private properties” comments Doc looking outside the window.
“Well, perhaps they’re too lazy to drive” I say.
“Or perhaps they know that if caught, they’re beaten enough to make them change their mind the next time they even think about repeating the same mistake” he says with a tone in his voice that sounds like a Marine officer who would establish the death penalty for crimes starting with stealing a bicycle and up.

I actually think that the only time Doc slept with no problems was when our friend I&I came to visit us and slept on the couch in our living room, the first room when entering the front door, and therefore where on the first time to defend our mansion. I am surprised Doc didn’t give them a club and a weapon to defend themselves from probable assaults by criminals that obviously didn’t enter the mansion.

One of favorite’s activities that Doc does almost every Sunday evening is to look for on-line criminal reports of the area where he lives and read them. So far, the only documented “crimes” in 1000 Querce consist of stealing objects from the car; hense, Doc now is very careful at leaving anything in his precious car Pivotta.

However, being a particularly suspicious person (his motto is “Don’t trust anybody, never ever”) every evening Doc goes around the mansion to check that doors and windows are sealed and closed. More than once, when he looked the mansion from the outside, I overheard him saying “I would install an iron grid right here on this window” or “I should install a web cam right there on that corner to monitor the two sides of the house even from far away” or “I should put broken glasses on the top of the wall in the patio.”

In total, there were to instances where Doc feared for the worst. Once was when Doc and I went to the airport to pick up our friend I&I; we left around 1pm and when we came back around 7pm, the door of the garage was wide open. Doc trembled.

“How come the door of the garage is wide opened?” he asked with an alarmed tone of the voice.
“I don’t know. You must have forgotten to close it” I mentioned.
“No way, I closed it” he said with no hesitation.
“Well, perhaps you didn’t pay attention and didn’t push the right key on the remote control, and you didn’t close it” I suggested.

Whatever the reason, as soon as we entered the garage, Doc was in a red-level alarmed stage and so was the male I, both ready to kick the potential criminal who entered the mansion. And while the two males were inspecting the door that connects the garage to the mansion to look for possible signs of burglary, I went around the garage looking for squirrels, rabbits, or skunks that are most likely the only creatures that entered the neat garage we have. Obviously, no criminal, burglar or thief has been found and after a careful inspection, the female I and I could enter the house.

After that experience, Doc doesn’t leave the mansion if the door of the garage has safely closed.

In addition, he is only thinking of creating a Neighborhood Watch Program with the result that probably everybody will know everything of everybody. He is also thinking of becoming a VIPS (Volunteers in Police Service Program) and help police whenever needed. Then, when he will become a US citizen (around May according to his schedule), he would like to apply for Reserve Deputy Sheriff and have more police-related responsibilities without the duty of working full time as a police officer.

I am sure his applications will be accepted and he will be very committed in doing his “job” and keep an eye on the quiet town of 1000 Querce where not too much happens. So, be aware 1000 Querce criminals: if I were you, I would become a saint when Doc takes over in his watching-duty. Compared to Doc, Chuck Norris looks as peaceful as Santa….

